Apple’s rejection of Flash doesn’t harm competition!

I don’t see that Apple is harming competition by their decision to keep flash off the iPad. In doing so Apple clearly recognizes that some consumers may choose to purchase a competitors product as a result of their decision. And some will. There is competition. Consumers can buy a net book, or another companies tablet or they can use a laptop.

Apple is not preventing others from offering competitive products. They have taken no steps to prevent flash videos being accepted on others products or on the web. Nor are they refusing to accept apps if their developers also make versions for Blackberries or Android phones. Consumers continue to have a clear choice. All that Apple is doing is limiting the technologies that may be used used on their platform in an effort to assure an excellent users experience. It would have been very easy for them to allow flash and increase their short sales yet they choose quality and long term gain. I love Apple products because they have great design and an incredible user experience. I do miss the ability to watch Flash videos on my iPad but I knew that when I made the choice to buy an iPad.

I guess there will always be those that like to point our what features Apple products are missing or to assume Apple’s dark conspiracy to take over the world. As for me, I don’t worry about what is missing. I only look at whether a product adds value to me at a reasonable price and gives me quality of experience. What’s your take?

Bookmark and Share

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

